Conversations Around the Lego Wall

When I first started transforming the MakerSpace I came across a post on Twitter about a Lego Wall. My first thought was, “I have to have that!”. I thought it looked cool and fun and knew it was a must for my new space.  What I didn’t realize though was the magic around the wall.

First off, I have to say how EASY it is to make a Lego Wall.  I simply purchased the base plates off of Amazon and they already included a sticky back that was ready to put on lego wallthe wall.  All I had to do was wash the wall, pull off the back cover of the base plates, line them up and stick them to the wall.  Within 15 minutes I had students building!

The students were laughing and giggling and they thought it was so neat to build on the wall. “This is exactly what I wanted”, I thought. I had no idea at the time how much our school needed the Lego Wall.

After a couple of weeks, the newness of the Lego Wall started to wear off and the magic started to happen.  Crucial conversations that students needed to have with adults began happening around the Lego Wall.  I often walked in to the MakerSpace while a student was building and talking to a teacher, counselor, or social worker about tough topics. The Lego Wall seemed to be a calming distraction that allowed the student to talk and have those tough conversations.

I had no idea how much students needed our Lego Wall when I first saw it on Twitter.  But, I’m so thankful for the magic of that wall!

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

